The McLaughlin Bay Wildlife Reserve

The McLaughlin Bay Wildlife Reserve, located behind GM Canada headquarters building, is open to the public for the enjoyment of wildlife habitat and day use activities.  Cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and skating are favorite pastimes during the winter, while cycling, walking/hiking, birdwatching and photography are more popular during the warmer months.  One of the goals of the McLaughlin Bay Wildlife Reserve Master Plan was to create an area where people and wildlife could co-exist in harmony.

With almost 7 km of walking and cycling trails, the McLaughlin Bay Wildlife Reserve provides not only access to the varied habitats to explore and vistas to enjoy, but also serve to link existing trails from Darlington Provincial Park and the Second Marsh Wildlife Area. Trails within the Reserve are also linked to a strategic network of walkways which make up the Lake Ontario Waterfront Trail. The Waterfront Trail (spearheaded by Waterfront Regeneration Trust) will eventually link all of the waterfront communities from Niagara to Gananoque.

The Dogwood trail at McLaughlin Bay Wildlife Reserve, designed in consultation with the Canadian National Institute for the Blind, provides an opportunity for partially-sighted or visually-impaired individuals to share in the delights of nature. A "multi-sensory" trail, suitable for anyone visiting the Reserve, it is a 490 m loop with hard, granular surface suitable as well for wheelchairs. It features a guide-rope, with panels in Braille and large-lettered text situated at strategic intervals along the route. Visitors are able to learn about the wildlife and natural history of the area using their senses of touch, smell and hearing.

For the protection of wildlife and habitat and enjoyment by others using the trails, the following ethics and code of conduct must be observed.

  • No dogs allowed (except certified guide dogs)
  • No alcoholic beverages
  • No firearms
  • No motorized vehicles
  • No fires or camping
  • No excessive noise
  • No littering

Abuses can be reported to General Motors' Security Provider (905) 644-7091. Serious offenses should be reported to Durham Regional Police.

You can access Second Marsh Wildlife Area, trails and viewing platform from the west parking lot. From the east parking lot you can access the main trail and the Dogwood Trail for the visually impaired within the McLaughlin Bay Wildlife Reserve.

General Motors of Canada Company’s initiatives have proven to be an excellent example of stewardship and how business, the community and governments can work together to preserve the natural environment. We would like to acknowledge Friends of Second Marsh for their gracious support and expertise throughout the years.

La réserve faunique de la Baie McLaughlin

La réserve faunique de la Baie McLaughlin, située derrière le bâtiment du siège social de GM Canada, est ouverte au public pour le plaisir des habitats fauniques et des activités de jour. Le ski de fond, la raquette et le patinage sont les loisirs préférés en hiver, tandis que le vélo, la marche et la randonnée, l'observation des oiseaux et la photographie sont plus populaires pendant les mois les plus chauds. L'un des objectifs du plan directeur de la réserve faunique de la Baie McLaughlin était de créer une zone où les humains et la faune pourraient coexister en harmonie.

Avec près de 7 km de sentiers pédestres et cyclables, la réserve faunique de la Baie McLaughlin permet non seulement d'accéder aux divers habitats à explorer et de profiter de paysages, mais aussi de relier les sentiers existants du parc provincial Darlington et de la réserve faunique Second Marsh. Les sentiers de la réserve sont également reliés à un réseau stratégique de passerelles qui constituent le sentier riverain du lac Ontario. Le sentier riverain (dirigé par Waterfront Regeneration Trust) reliera éventuellement toutes les collectivités riveraines de Niagara à Gananoque.

Le sentier Dogwood de la réserve faunique de la Baie McLaughlin, conçu en collaboration avec l'Institut national canadien pour les aveugles, offre aux personnes malvoyantes ou ayant une déficience visuelle la possibilité de partager les plaisirs de la nature. Un sentier « multisensoriel », adapté à tous ceux qui visitent la réserve, forme une boucle de 490 m de surface dure et granuleuse qui convient également aux fauteuils roulants. Il comporte une corde de guidage, avec des panneaux en braille et des textes en gros caractères situés à des intervalles stratégiques le long du parcours. Les visiteurs peuvent en apprendre davantage sur la faune et l'histoire naturelle de la région en utilisant leurs sens du toucher, de l'odorat et de l'ouïe.

Pour la protection de la faune et de l'habitat et le plaisir des autres utilisateurs des sentiers, les règles d'éthique et de conduite suivantes doivent être respectées.

  • Aucun chien autorisé (sauf les chiens guides certifiés)
  • Pas de boissons alcoolisées
  • Pas d'armes à feu
  • Pas de véhicules motorisés
  • Pas de feu ni de camping
  • Pas de bruit excessif
  • Pas de déchets

Les abus peuvent être signalés au fournisseur de sécurité de General Motors au 905 644 7091. Les infractions graves doivent être signalées à la police régionale de Durham.

Vous pouvez accéder à la réserve faunique Second Marsh, aux sentiers et à la plate-forme d'observation depuis le stationnement ouest. À partir du stationnement est, vous pouvez accéder au sentier principal et au sentier Dogwood pour les malvoyants dans la réserve faunique de la Baie McLaughlin.

Les initiatives de la Compagnie General Motors du Canada se sont révélées être un excellent exemple de gestion et de la façon dont les entreprises, la collectivité et les gouvernements peuvent collaborer pour préserver l'environnement naturel. Nous aimerions remercier les Amis de Second Marsh pour leur soutien et leur expertise au fil des ans.